Compare

The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want” (Psalm 23:1).
This is what the Psalmist, David, wrote all those years ago,
a young man, a Shepherd himself: He saw how You
led, guided, protected Him– and how in need he was of such guidance,
of such protection–
that we are vapors in the wind,
and that does not need to be sad.

I have compared myself, dust,
to another pile of dust,
who walked on the sands of Spain. What is new, again?
This thing You are doing in me,
preparation for the ultimate grand finale–
nothing could compare to this.

Happiness:
Not the fulfillment of worldly desires,
but the fulfillment of Your Will in my life,
even if I am taken by that sharp, shiny, pointed knife
they call trial, sorrow, “the valley.”
Jesus, You are my Joy
no matter the chatter
of the ages.
You set me free, my Shepherd, my God– and I don’t need
the sunset of a distant shore
to know the adventure of a soul, in Your Hands.
(not that there’s anything wrong with distant lands.)
Take me to your lands, Jesus–
I know I will see your Goodness.

Jesus,
Let me see the light of Your Face,
instead, You know
I need You– My Shepherd, My Strength,
Forgive me for fearing the goats,
and envying the rams.
You are the Great “I Am.”
I am YOUR lamb; let me
be led by You,
forever.

(As I have approached 21, please make Your desires
my desires
for my birthday. For the Life You
have given me.)

Be strong. Take heart. Wait for the Lord” (Psalm 27:14).
Okay.
You are the God of the Psalmist, the Author of Salvation–
Help me to write,
to glorify You.
This, today,
is my prayer.

Author: bringbackhisgirls

I am a young lover of the Truth-- the Lord Jesus Christ. Slowly but very surely, the Lord has shown me tender mercy, strength, salvation, and a completely redeemed life. Though never abused or mistreated by others myself, the name "Hephzibah" (Isaiah 62:4) is something I've always struggled to claim for myself as my name, never believing that Christ, that God, could actually cherish me as His bride, His beloved and delighted-in daughter. Ties to bondage, self-condemnation, and self-hatred come easily to me... until I realize that He has done what Isaiah 62 so beautifully describes: He's dressed me up like a bride, given me fame and honor among the nations (people), and given me a brand new name: No longer desolate, but "My delight is in her." I live now to show others the beauty of God's good grace and the power of His redemption through His son, Jesus Christ, letting others know-- especially those who've been abused or mistreated-- that the Lord desires to call them by this name and bring them into a right relationship with Him also. Micah 6:8. "No, the Lord has told us what is good. What he requires of us is this: to do what is just, to show constant love, and to live in humble fellowship with our God." (God's Word Translation) James 1:6-8. "But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do." (NIV Translation) And, my verse (passage) of the year: "Praise be to the Lord, the God of Israel, because he has come to His people and redeemed them. He has raised up a horn of salvation for us in the house of His servant David (as he said through his holy prophets of long ago), salvation from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us— to show mercy to our ancestors and to remember His holy covenant, the oath He swore to our father Abraham: to rescue us from the hand of our enemies, and to enable us to serve him without fear in holiness and righteousness before him all our days." (Luke 1:68-75) Step by step, day by day, the Lord Jesus has been showing me what these 3 passages truly mean. I've been learning about the freedom I have in Jesus Christ-- to Love Him, and the people He has created. Let it be so. Be so very, very blessed. I love all of you.

Leave a Reply

